COPA AMÉRICA

Did linesman save Brazil with Bolaños Copa América decision?

The Ecuador striker thought he had snuck a goal in at the near post but it was ruled out despite replays suggesting the ball had not gone out of play.

Ecuador looked to have taken a sensational lead at the Pasadena Rose Bowl midway through the second half when Brazil goalkeeper Alisson fumbled a cross from Miller Bolaños into his own net as he stooped to gather at the near post.

But as Ecuador's bench and players celebrated, the match officials whistled for a goal kick, after ruling that the ball had gone out of play shortly before Bolanos crossed into the six-yard box.

Replays of the incident appeared to suggest the ball was fractionally still in play and that Brazil had been saved from a losing start to Group B by an officiating error.

0 Comentarios

Normas Mostrar