Pliskova smashes umpires seat after losing to Sakkari

The Czech player lost to Maria Sakkari and at the end of the match was still furious about a disputed line call from earlier in the match. She took her frustration out on the furniture.

Former world no.1 Karolina Pliskova lost the plot at the end of her second round Rome Open match against Maria Sakkari, after losing 3-6, 6-3, 7-5. Pliskova had argued with the umpire about several line calls, with one in particular, an overhead from Pliskova that looked in, but was called out, enraging the number 6 seed.

At the end of the match Pliskova went to offer her hand to the umpire, before the red mist descended and she instead beat the heck out of the chair. She now faces what could be a rather hefty fine. 

Her coach also made a very rude gesture, which was captured for posterity.

0 Comentarios

Normas Mostrar