• LaLiga Santander
  • LaLiga SmartBank
  • Premier League
  • Bundesliga
  • Copa Libertadores
  • Liga Portuguesa
LaLiga Santander
LaLiga SmartBank
Premier League
Copa Libertadores
Liga Portuguesa


LFP Gala: Cristiano and Madrid sweep up, Atleti forgotten

LFP Gala: Cristiano and Madrid sweep up, Atleti forgotten

The Portuguese won the awards for best player, best forward and best goal of last season. Navas, Ramos, Modric, Iniesta and Simeone the other winners.

Real Madrid were the big winners at the Awards Gala of the LFP, held at the Hotel Auditorium in Madrid on Monday night and presented by comedian Eva Hache, aided by Carlos Latre and Dani Rovira. Keylor Navas was voted best goalkeeper (for his performances with Levante), Sergio Ramos was named best defender, Luka Modric was best midfielder and Cristiano Ronaldo was named best forward. The Portuguese international was handed the trophy by team-mate James Rodriguez. Cristiano also picked up the award for best goal and best player in La Liga last season.

Andres Iniesta won the award of best attacking midfielder. Atlético, league champions, had six nominees (Courtois, Felipe Luis, Miranda, Gabi, Koke and Diego Costa) and did not receive one trophy. At least the work of manager Diego Pablo Simeone was recognised as he was named best coach. Simeone threw a dart at the league in his speech, saying: “I want to share this with my technical team and also with my players, Courtois, Miranda, Gabi, Koke...”.

The best goal in the league, for the LFP, was Cristiano Ronaldo’s in week 36 of the season against Valencia. In the Segunda Division the same award was won by Jorge Morcillo of Recreativo.

Carlos Bacca, of Sevilla, won the best South American player in the competition and Yuri, of Ponferradina, won it in the Segunda Division. Brahimi, of Granada (now with Porto), was named Best African player in the competition last term.

In the youth categories, the LFP awarded Rafinha and Ayoze Pérez their prizes. The campaign catapulted both players into the limelight. The former returned to Barcelona and the latter played for Tenerife from Premier League side Newcastle United. Ayoze Pérez was also named midfielder of the year in the Segunda.

In the Segunda Division Deportivo won plenty. Lux was named best goalkeeper, Insua was best defender, Juan Dominguez was best midfielder. Ayoze was best midfielder and Borja Viguera was best forward. Eibar’s Gaizka Garitano was recognised as the best coach in the league. The best player was Julio Álvarez of Numancia.

The fair play awards went to Rakitic (Sevilla), Manuel Pablo (Deportivo), Real Sociedad and Eibar. The two league champions, Atlético and Eibar, were also recognised.

The awards for the best players in each position and the best coach were decided by the votes of the three team captains of teams in each division. They could not vote for their own team players and their team coaches. The coaches chose the revelation players and the votes were gathered from the internet for the best goals, best American players and best African players. The best players in every category were established by the Media Coach program, that gathers all the statistics from the league.

/portada/imagenes/2016/07/11/promoslider/1468247693_827438_1563801407_promo_normal_recorte1.jpg Patrocina: Apuestas As

¡Cuota 50.0! a l victoria del Barça frente al Betis