CHAMPIONS LEAGUE | ATLÉTICO - BARÇA
Atlético Madrid and Barcelona both claim penalties
The referee waved away Atlético's appeals after Mascherano challenges on Adrián and later Villa, and was unmoved as Cesc was caught by Godín.
Atlético Madrid and Barcelona were both aggrieved at being denied penalties during Wednesday's Champions League encounter at the Vicente Calderón.
The hosts appealed for a spot-kick in the 41st minute, as Adrián advanced into the area at speed and with the ball under control, and defender Javier Mascherano lightly tugged at his arm. The Asturian forward fell to the turf, but referee Howard Webb was unmoved.
Just two minutes later, there was penalty controversy at the opposite end. Cesc Fàbregas controlled the ball on the right of the Blaugrana attack and appeared to be caught by Diego Godín as he cut inside. However, Webb again deemed the contact insufficient to point to the spot.
In the second half, Atlético were again after a penalty – this time more vociferously – after an apparent push by Mascherano on Villa.