• LaLiga SmartBank
  • Copa Argentina
LaLiga SmartBank
Copa Argentina
Central Córdoba (Santiago del Estero) Central Córdoba (Santiago del Estero) CSE


Estudiantes Estudiantes EST



Ayza changes his version of events regarding CR7's red card

Ayza changes his version of events regarding CR7's red card

The Competition Committee spoke to the referee, who said the red card was for the incident with Iturraspe, not Gurpegui.

Referee Ayza, who was in charge of Sunday’s Athletic-Real Madrid clash, has changed his version of events of the game in order to clear up doubts the Spanish Football Federation Competition Committee had. In his new version the referee says he sent Cristiano Ronaldo off for raising his hand and striking Iturraspe, rather than Gurpegui.

This revised version of events avoids the error which would occur if the match report referred to the incident between Cristiano and Gurpegui, because the text states that play had stopped when it occurred. This was not the case when Ronaldo raised his hand to Gurpegui, but was the case when Cristiano and Iturraspe squared up.

Madrid have already presented evidence and legal arguments to the Committee and the new version makes these irrelevant, given that they were based on the original match report.

The Committee made contact with Real Madrid and gave them a new time limit in which to present a revised case – up to 10am tomorrow, Wednesday. The original time limit was 2pm on Tuesday. The club’s legal team believe that the process used by the Committee has left the player without any possibility of a defence and that the entire case is now flawed.

Real Madrid’s lawyers also believe that the referee should not have been able to alter his match report after the time limit they were given, that is 2pm today, and do not understand why that was allowed to happen.

/portada/imagenes/2016/07/11/promoslider/1468247693_827438_1569568185_promo_normal_recorte1.jpg Patrocina: Apuestas As

Disfruta de hasta 300€ de bono de bienvenida