as de espadas
torero con estoque


The World Soccer Award almost guarantees Ballon d'Or success

Since 2000 the player that has scooped the award from the prestigious magazine has gone on to win the greatest distinction in football, apart from in 2004 and 2010.


The World Soccer Award given to Cristiano Ronaldo as the player of the year 2013 may not be the only recognition for the Portuguese star. In the last 14 editions, since 2000, the winner of this award normally goes on to win the Ballon d’Or. Only on two occasions has this not been the case: in 2004 Ronaldinho won it only for Shevchenko to take the Ballon d’Or. In 2010 Messi won his first Ballon d’Or, but the World Soccer Award went to Xavi Hernández.

Since 2000, the World Soccer and Ballon d’Or winners are: Luis Figo (2000), Owen (2001), Ronaldo (2002), Nedved (2003), Ronaldinho (2005), Cannavaro (2006), Kaká (2007), Cristiano Ronaldo (2008) and Messi (2009, 2011 and 2012).

Estadísticas AS.com