as de espadas
torero con estoque


Madrid get their squad numbers; the 11 shirt, saved for Bale

Denis Cheyshev and Adán have yet to be assigned a squad number. Jesé inherits Higuaín’s No.20 shirt, Morata, Callejón’s No.21 shirt.


Real Madrid have assigned squad numbers to all members of the first team squad for the 2013/14 season. Curiously, the number 11 shirt, worn by Ricardo Carvalho last season, has not been allocated to any of the current players. Presumably, the number 11 squad number, which is Gareth Bale’s squad number at Tottenham and Wales, is being reserved in case the Welshman finally completes his move to the Bernabéu this month.

The team’s recent arrivals have all been allocated their squad numbers: Isco has been handed the 23 shirt, Illarramendi – 24 (both numbers have been available since last season), Dani Carvajal has taken the number 15 shirt worn by Michael Essien last season, Jesé inherits Gonzalo Higuaín’s old number 20 shirt and Álvaro Morata has been designated the number 21 shirt which José Callejón wore until being transferred to Napoli earlier this summer.

Despite being registered for the first team squad for the new campaign, Denis Cheyshev has not been allocated a squad number – not has Antonio Adán, who is expected to quit the club during the next few weeks.

The full Real Madrid squad reads:

1. Iker Casillas

2. Raphael Varane

3. Pepe

4. Sergio Ramos

5. Fabio Coentrao

6. Sami Khedira

7. Cristiano Ronaldo

8. Kaká

9. Benzema

10. Özil

12. Marcelo

13. Jesús Fernández

14. Xabi Alonso

15. Carvajal

16. Casemiro

17. Álvaro Arbeloa

18. Nacho

19. Luka Modric

20. Jesé Rodríguez

21. Álvaro Morata

22. Ángel Di María

23. Isco

24. Asier Illarramendi

25. Diego López.

Estadísticas AS.com