as de espadas
torero con estoque


José Mourinho chosen as best club coach in 2012 by IFFHS

The Real Madrid boss finished marginally ahead of former Chelsea coach Roberto Di Matteo, and Atlético Madrid coach Diego Simeone. Pep Guardiola finished fourth.


José Mourinho chosen as best club coach in 2012 by IFFHS

Jose Mourinho has been named as the best club coach in 2012 by the International Federation for Football History and Statistics (IFFHS).

It is the fourth time the Real Madrid coach has won the award, which he also picked up in 2004, 2005 and 2010.

Mourinho lead Madrid to the league title in 2011-12 and achieved a record-breaking 100 points and 121 goals, while his side were knocked out at the semi-finals stage of the Champions League on penalties.

The Portuguese was chosen by a panel of football experts ahead of Roberto Di Matteo, who won the Champions League and FA Cup with Chelsea, Diego Simeone, who turned Atlético Madrid's fortunes around and won the Europa League, and Pep Guardiola, who won the Copa del Rey with Barcelona.

Mourinho has won the IFFHS award more than any other coach. Marcello Lippi (1996 and 1998), Ottmar Hitzfeld (1997 and 2001), Carlos Bianchi (2000 and 2003), Sir Alex Ferguson (1999 and 2008) and Guardiola (2009 and 2011) are the only other coaches to have won the award more than once.


1. José Mourinho (POR/Real Madrid) 101 points

2. Roberto Di Matteo (ITA/Chelsea) 99

3. Diego Pablo Simone (ARG/Atlético Madrid) 97

4. Josep Guardiola (SPA/Barcelona) 82

5. Tite (BRA/Sao Paulo) 61

6. Jupp Heynckes (GER/Bayern Munich) 40

7. Alex Ferguson (SCO/Manchester United) 27

8. Jürgen Klopp (GER/Borussia Dortmund) 15

9. Marcelo Bielsa (ARG/Athletic Bilbao) 12

10. Roberto Mancini (ITA/Manchester City) 11

Estadísticas AS.com