as de espadas
torero con estoque


Raúl and Iniesta on list of the players the Ballon d'Or forgot

French sports newspaper L'Equipe included the two Spaniards on its list of 17 players, but bizarrely did not include other greats of Spanish football such as Xavi or Casillas.


Raúl and Iniesta on list of the players the Ballon d'Or forgot

Once it was revealed that Lionel Messi had won the 2012 FIFA Ballon d'Or, French newspaper 'L'Equipe' published a list entitled 'The players the Ballon d'Or forgot'.

The list, which strangely omitted illustrious names in Spanish football such as Xavi Hernández and Iker Casillas, included Andrés Iniesta, one of the three finalists in 2012 and 2010, and Raúl, who finished second behind Michael Owen in 2001.

The 17 players on the newspaper's list:

Oliver Kahn (3rd in 2001 and 2002)

Gianluigi Buffon (2nd in 2006)

Cafu (never a finalist)

Franco Baresi (2nd in 1989)

Paulo Maldini (3rd in 1994 and 2003)

Roberto Carlos (2nd in 2002)

Lilian Thuram (never a finalist)

David Beckham (2nd in 1999)

Allesandro Nesta (never a finalist)

Steven Gerrard (3rd in 2005)

Wesley Sneijder (never a finalist)

Frank Lampard (second in 2005)

Raúl (2nd in 2001)

Thierry Henry (3rd in 2006)

Alessandro Del Piero (never a finalist)

Samuel Eto'o (never a finalist)

Andrés Iniesta (2nd in 2010, 3rd in 2012)

Estadísticas AS.com