as de espadas
torero con estoque


11 La Liga players named in FIFA team of the year

Five players each from Real Madrid and Barcelona were named in the team, along with one from Atlético Madrid (Radamel Falcao). Six of the 11 players are Spain internationals.


11 La Liga players named in FIFA team of the year

The FIFA team of the year was named in Zurich at the award ceremony for the 2012 Ballon d'Or, and it consisted exclusively of La Liga players.

The team was as follows: Iker Casillas, Dani Alves, Gerard Piqué, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Xabi Alonso, Xavi Hernández, Andrés Iniesta, Leo Messi, Radamel Falcao and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Real Madrid and Barcelona each had five players in the team, while Atlético Madrid had one.

The inclusion of Casillas means that the Real Madrid and Spain captain was again named as the best goalkeeper in the world.

The fact that every player named in the team plays in Spain is a tribute to the quality of La Liga, in spite of the fact that neither Real Madrid nor Barcelona reached the final of the Champions League last season.

It is not just the quality of Spanish clubs that has been awarded, as the 11 players included six members of the Spain squad that won the 2012 European Championships in Poland and Ukraine: Alonso, Iniesta, Xavi, Casillas, Ramos and Piqué.

Estadísticas AS.com