as de espadas
torero con estoque


Lionel Messi wins the 'Onze d'Or' for third consecutive year

Messi has now won the award three years in a row, becoming only the second player to do so, after Michel Platini, who won the award in 1983, 1984 and 1985.


Another day, another award for Lionel Messi. French football magazine 'Onze Mondial' has chosen the Argentine as the winner of their annual prestigious award, which is chosen by their readers and has existed since 1976.

Messi has now won the award four years in a row, beating Michel Platini,'s record of three consecutive awards, in 1983, 1984 and 1985.

The Barcelona forward won 47.45% of the votes, beating Cristiano Ronaldo (27.95); Radamel Falcao (6.1%), Karim Benzema (2.24%), Xavi Hernández and Mesut Ozil (1.38%).

Previous winners of the award include the aforementioned Platini, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Diego Maradona, Marco Van Basten, Zinedine Zidane, Eric Cantona and Ronaldo.

Estadísticas AS.com